Vegetarian Sushi Bowl

IMG_1345.jpg

I had a lot of weird eating habits as a kid. My sisters fondly (meanly – come on, sisters) called me “carb face” for many years, and my grandma said that her favorite outfit and my eating habits had a lot of similarities (all beige).

Most notably, and disgusting to people, was my Subway sandwich order. I would get a footlong (hey, I was an active kid!) with extra white American cheese, black olives, and mayo. That’s it. Then I’d apply cheddar Sun Chips directly to my sandwich and cronch! I don’t want to eat that anymore, but I still love me some carbs.

Another fave was at Flat Top Grill, one of those DIY stiryfry assembly restaurants where you picked out all your ingredients and then they cook them for you (with Indian roti, if you asked for it – yum!!), where while I was waiting for my bowl to cook I’d get plain brown rice, raw edamame, and soy sauce. This recipe hearkens back to that, with a few more veggies, and a slightly enhanced dipping sauce.

IMG_1344.jpg

IMG_1343.jpg

IMG_2074.jpg

Serves 1, or scale it up

Ingredients

  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 1/2 cup sugar snap peas, chopped
  • 1/4 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/4 cup chopped or sliced radishes
  • 1/2 cucumber, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 cup edamame (raw or roasted)
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced (and formed into a rose, if you’re ambitious)
  • Dipping sauce
    • 2 tbsp soy sauce
    • 1.5 tbsp rice wine vinegar
    • 1 tsp chili garlic sauce
    • pinch brown sugar

Instructions

  1. Combine sauce ingredients.
  2. Arrange veggies and rice artfully (optional).
  3. Dig in!

Leave a comment